At The Movies

ATLatthemoviesBNRAt the movies, I have to remind myself to be calm, to take a breath and let go as the courtesy bulbs pop and the exit signs come up after another bad movie.  I sit there locked in silence, teeth too tight against one another, eyes darting through the credit scroll looking for the one person I know or knew from film school, the imagined and the imaginary, someone I can say hey – what’s up with that?  I imagine myself stopping at the concession stand before the octagon where kids and the usual wandering elder work in huddled indifference, tired of pushing brooms through other people’s entertainment aftermath, and ask for my money back.  Sometimes it matters but mostly it doesn’t, it’s strangers passing one another to and from Los Angeles‘ hopscotch tosses, the failed elevator pitch before the next elbow room dueling match with the movie execs’ exec too busy to look up from their stupor of movie script sameitude.  And that’s when I realize it’s happened again, I let my trusty guards down as soon as the fade in – that I’ve drowned in possibility at another lost chance at greatness that’s not even close to pretty goodness.  I gather my thoughts and my wits about me, piece together what went right then predictably wrong, how much seemed so OK until it wasn’t or ever isn’t.  But I have to get to the car first, I have to stand and shake off my popcorn kernels and the popcorn kernels of others that have formed a bib of tiny indentations in my clothes and on my arms and pant legs.  I stand too quickly again, and wobble like others off kilter on squeaky tennis shoes, popcorn buckets and soda cup rockets toppling over, gurgling, elbows batting one another nestled together in our blameless orgy of contemptible escapism.

It’s only after the second battery of clear-the-way-for-the-next-unsuspecting-movie-theater-patron-lights come on that I really feel the air of disappointment, the sting and then the weight of critical reasoning coming back on strong after having been engulfed in hopeful romanticism – stymied, again by our gullible love of movie escapism.

About rorydean

Rory Dean is a multi-medium artist, writer and new media strategist with a background as a creative consultant and technology liaison in the San Francisco Bay Area. His broad experiences and specialties include print-to-web publicity, promotions and design marketing using traditional and social media networks. As a motion pictures and television professional, his short films, productions and commercials have screened to domestic and international audiences. His connections to a diverse client base include artists, entertainers, corporations, non-profits and everyday people.. Dean is co-owner and founder of Dissave Pictures, a boutique production company focusing on audio, video, photography and multi-media designs. Dean's personal and professional background includes dreaming and avid notebook journaling, creative and copy writing, promotions and marketing, audio/video production, photography, videography, editing, web design and new media. He’s also a fan of collaboration and knows when to turn the reigns over, offer feedback, lead the team and step aside. His portfolio includes print, online, film, video, photography, graphic design and promotions. He’ll show you. He has a book and everything. "When not juggling various online worlds, I do a pretty good mime – but that’s another story."
This entry was posted in Essays on Film, Movie I've Seen, My Review of Their Review:, philosophy and film, Rants & Raves, Speak-Freely, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to At The Movies

  1. facebook marauder says:

    Would you be considering exchanging links?

    • rorydean says:

      Well Marcy, I have to tell you this response looks canned for spammed and I’m only responding for the hell of it. I don’t know what kind of links you had in mind to exchange, but I’ve got 5 on your 10 that this is merely hokum and you’re pulling my chain. Careful, junk yard dogs bite.

  2. Pingback: Soderbergh’s Contagion gets Two Views | Above the Line

  3. anon FB user says:

    I have recently started a blog of my own about movie reviews, considered shopping for others before I dig in. Your blog is the information I was looking for – you offer this web site has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  4. Carmine Lu says:

    I like reading a post that can make men and women think. Also, thanks for permitting me to comment.

    • rorydean says:

      Well Carmine, thanks I think. What do you mean? How did this make you think? Half of blogging is inspiring others to think, the other half is inspire them to comment and part of that is enticing them to return to see your response.

  5. Pingback: xbox ED

    • rorydean says:

      Sometimes mysteriously I surprise even myself. The movies will always be a place for us to hide from the world and for the world to go lightly, sometimes rewarding the curious.

Leave a Reply

